Fragile Memoirs
Home » Index » 2012
Call the Midwife (2012-2016)
Based on the memoirs of Jennifer Worth; the story follows twenty-two year old Jenny, who in 1957 leaves her comfortable home to become a midwife in London's East End. She is surprised to find that she will be living in a convent: Nonnatus House. Working alongside fellow nurses and the medically-trained nuns, Jenny has her eyes opened to the harsh living conditions of the slums, but she also discovers the warm hearts and the bravery of the mothers. Even after Jenny leaves Nonnatus, she continues to chronicle the lives of the midwives who have become her family.
Year: 2012
Country: UK
Directed by : Juliet May, Syd Macartney and others
Written by : Heidi Thomas
Cast: Vanessa Redgrave, Jenny Agutter, Laura Main, Judy Parfitt, Stephen McGann, Helen George, Pam Ferris
Literary source: Jennifer Worth (based on memoirs)